Bossier Parish STEM educator is Louisiana's teacher of the year

Updated: Jul. 29, 2018 at 11:19 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

(KSLA) - Louisiana's teacher of the year is science, math, engineering and technology teacher with Bossier public schools.

The Louisiana Education Department made the announcement about Elm Grove Middle's Spencer Kiper this weekend at the 12th annual Cecil J. Picard Educator Awards gala.

Eric Davis, of Wossman High School in Monroe, is the state principal of the year.

Kiper teaches STEM enrichment courses to more than 100 students at Elm Grove Middle.

He also teaches educational technology and STEM education an adjunct professor at LSU-Shreveport.

While he is not teaching, Kiper is a volunteer and mentor with the Civil Air Patrol.

He was awarded the National Aerospace Educator of the Year award in 2016.

And for four consecutive summers, Kiper has worked as a professional development specialist for the Space Academy for Educators program at the U.S. Space and Rocket Center in Huntsville, Ala., where he inspires other educators to engage in high-impact STEM instructional practices.

Kiper earned his bachelor's degree in secondary English and biology education at LSU-Shreveport, his master's degree in educational technology from the American College of Education and his graduate certificate in cyber and STEM education from Louisiana Tech University in Ruston.

Also announced Saturday by the state Education Department were the 2019 elementary, middle school and high school principal and teacher of the year winners.

Kathryn M. Ferguson, of Youree Drive Middle Advanced Placement Magnet School in Shreveport, is Louisiana's middle school teacher of the year.

Following are the state's other recipients:

Teacher of the year
Elementary school: Tasha Jolivette-Jones, of Coteau Elementary School in Iberia Parish
High school: Stephen Goodly, of Warren Easton Senior High School in Orleans Parish

Principal of the year
Elementary school: Kim Canezaro, of Belle Chasse High School in Pointe Coupee Parish
Middle school: Holly Castile, of Grand Lake School in Cameron Parish
High school: Victoria McMullen-Dunn, of East Feliciana High School in East Feliciana Parish.

The state Education Department's annual awards ceremony, held at Crowne Plaza Executive Center in Baton Rouge, is co-sponsored by Dream Teachers, a nonprofit that recognizes Louisiana's best educators and education leaders and encourages educational excellence.

Copyright 2018 KSLA. All rights reserved.