Hughes, Hefner win Texas legislative races in Tuesday's runoff election

Published: May. 25, 2016 at 2:33 AM CDT|Updated: May. 25, 2016 at 2:37 AM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

NORTHEAST TEXAS (KSLA) - Texas voters returned to the polls on Tuesday, casting their final votes in the Primary Runoff election before November's big election day.

In the race for the State Senate District 1 seat, current officeholder Kevin Eltife left the seat open when he decided not to run for re-election. After the March 1 General Primary, State House District 5 Representative Bryan Hughes and State House District 7 Representative David Simpson, both republicans, made it to Tuesday's runoff.

In complete but unofficial results, Hughes topped Simpson with 69 percent of the votes.

Hughes decision to run left his current State House District 5 seat open for someone new. That race was between Republicans Cole Hefner and Jay Misenheimer. Hefner bested Misenheimer in the runoff, garnering 60 percent of the votes.

In both these races, there were no democratic or other party candidates, meaning Hughes and Hefner won their seats outright, and will not face any challengers come November.

Statewide, voters decided on two republican Criminal Appeals Court seats and the republican and democratic candidates for Railroad Commissioner. Many counties also had local races. Click here to see the results of Tuesday night's election.

Copyright 2016 KSLA. All Rights Reserved.