Federal declaration expanded to Red River, Sabine parishes

Federal declaration expanded to Red River, Sabine parishes

NORTH LOUISIANA (KSLA) - Louisiana Gov. John Bel Edwards' request to expand the state's federal disaster declaration to include additional parishes has been granted.

Jackson, Rapides, Red River and Sabine make up the new parishes in the declaration.

The federal declaration will provide residents with individual and public assistance, specifically debris removal and emergency protective measures to include direct federal assistance.

Edwards requested assistance Thursday for 9 additional parishes: Catahoula, East Carroll, Franklin, Jackson, Lincoln, Rapides, Red River, Sabine, and St. Helena.

The request for the 5 remaining parishes is pending.

Previously approved parishes: Allen, Ascension, Beauregard, Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Calcasieu, Caldwell, Claiborne, DeSoto, Grant, LaSalle, Livingston, Madison, Morehouse, Natchitoches, Ouachita, Richland, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Union, Vernon, Washington, Webster, West Carroll and Winn.

Copyright 2016. KSLA. All rights reserved.