Gov. Edwards requests 9 more parishes added disaster declaration

Published: Mar. 24, 2016 at 10:53 PM CDT|Updated: Apr. 7, 2016 at 10:53 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

LOUISIANA (KSLA) - Louisiana Governor John Bel Edwards has requested more parishes be added to the Federal Disaster Declaration on Thursday.

In Northwest Louisiana, Red River and Sabine parishes were requested.

Gov. Edwards requested a total of 9 more parishes, adding to the 26 already approved in the declaration, meaning more than half of the state would be included.

Those requested Thursday include: Catahoula, East Carroll, Franklin, Jackson, Lincoln, Rapides, Red River, Sabine, and St. Helena.

The floodwaters have yet to recede in some areas, causing some residents to be evacuated and local governments are still conducting sheltering operations.

The federal declaration will provide residents with individual and public assistance, specifically debris removal and emergency protective measures to include direct federal assistance.

"Our team has continued to monitor the flood related damage across the state and taken proactive steps to provide for the safety and immediate needs of families affected by the flood waters," said Gov. Edwards. "As promised, I am doing everything I possibly can to get much needed resources, state and federal, to every parish and person impacted by this devastating event."

Previously approved parishes: Allen, Ascension, Beauregard, Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Calcasieu, Caldwell, Claiborne, DeSoto, Grant, LaSalle, Livingston, Madison, Morehouse, Natchitoches, Ouachita, Richland, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Union, Vernon, Washington, Webster, West Carroll, and Winn.

Copyright 2016 KSLA. All rights reserved.