Five NSU tracksters named All-Americans

Five Northwestern State track and field competitors officially joined an elite club Monday when the Demons 4x100 meter relay team of Gabe White, Hanoj Carter, Kendal Taylor, Justin Walker  along with Janae Allen in the women's discus received All-America honors.

The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association, based in New Orleans, released its list of All-America winners from last week's NCAA Division I Outdoor Track and Field Championships in Eugene, Ore.  First-team All-Americans were top eight finishers, while those who finished in places 9-16 earned second-team honors.

White, Carter, Taylor and Walker ran a 39.57 time, sixth-fastest in school history and best by the Demons since 1982, to post a 12th-place finish in the 4x100 meter relay last Wednesday. They came in as the 22nd seed in a 24-team field.

Allen was the 24th-ranked thrower entering her Thursday competition, based on qualifying marks compiled throughout the season. She was a surprise qualifier for the national championships, earning the 11th of 12 slots at the NCAA East Preliminary Rounds two weeks earlier.

Allen improved her personal best by almost 11 feet with a 176-2 best mark Thursday, capturing 10th place at the national meet.

The All-America honors give NSU athletes 70 Division I All-America honors since 1977, including 14 Indoor awards won by the Demons, 46 Outdoor honors by the NSU men, four NCAA Indoor awards claimed by the Lady Demons, and six won outdoors by the NSU women.

That includes NCAA champions in three events:  the fabled 1981 4x100 meter relay foursome of Victor Oatis, Joe Delaney, Mario Johnson and Mark Duper, who ran 39.32 to win at the NCAA Outdoors in Baton Rouge; Brian Brown, who cleared 7-8 to win the 1990 NCAA Indoors high jump crown; and Trecey Rew, whose 192-4 throw captured the 2010 NCAA Outdoors women's discus title.

Three years ago, the USATFCCCA changed its procedures for All-America recognition. Previously, the top eight finishers in each event, and the top eight American-born finishers, received All-America honors.