ELECTION RESULTS: Caddo Parish commissioners

Kracman, Thomas, Young, Blake, Epperson & Cothran elected
Published: Sep. 23, 2023 at 10:30 AM CDT|Updated: Oct. 16, 2023 at 9:09 AM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

SHREVEPORT, La. (KSLA) - Winners have been declared for several Caddo Parish Commission districts.

Seats in districts 1, 3, 4, 8, 10, and 12 were up for grabs during this election.

[Click here for election results]

District 1

  • Todd Hopkins (R)
    • He coached in Blanchard Biddy Ball and Dixie League baseball in the early 1990s.
    • Former member of Louisiana Republican Party State Central Committee.
    • Founding member and former chairman of the North Caddo Medical Center Foundation.
    • A long-standing association with the Rotary Club of Oil City from 1991 to 2008, during which he served as a club president and an assistant governor.
  • WINNER: “Chris” Kracman (R)
    • Coaches Blanchard Athletes Club.
    • Founder of A Better Blanchard Group.
    • Caddo Alliance. for Freedom founder.

District 3

  • Joshua A. Hanson (No party)
    • Graduate of Bossier Parish Community College and Louisiana Tech University.
    • Owner of Lark Realty, broker licensed in Louisiana, Arkansas, and Texas.
    • Owner of Louisiana Lagniappe Insurance Co.
    • Businessman of the Year 2004 – Springhill North Webster Chamber of Commerce
  • WINNER: Victor L. Thomas (D)
    • U.S. Army veteran.
    • Thomas is a community organizer.
    • Educator
  • Michael D. Williams (D)

District 4

  • Frank Thaxton (R)
    • Business owner of HomeLUXE and ThaxPack LLC.
    • Past president for Louisiana Housing and Education Inc, Louisiana Consulting and Inspections, and LACI LLC
    • Caddo Parish native
  • WINNER: John-Paul Young (R)
    • Currently serving as vice president of the Caddo Commission
    • Shreveport native.
    • Current incumbent

District 8

  • WINNER: Grace Anne Blake (R)
    • Owner of Avalon Salon for 25 years.
    • Life-long Caddo resident
  • “Tim” Euler (R)
    • Head of school at Word of God Academy
    • National speaker and consultant on education, parenting, family life, and youth.

District 10

  • Quinton J. Aught (D)
    • LSUS graduate
  • WINNER: Ronald “Ronnie” Cothran (D)
    • Served as Caddo Commissioner for District 8 since Jan. 2023.
    • Graduate of Grambling University and Wright State University
    • Retired sergeant major U.S. Army Medical Corps.
    • Retired principal
  • Kenny Gordon (D)
    • Graduate of Southern University
    • Retired teacher of 27 years.
    • Veteran

District 12

  • David Cox (R)
    • Resident of Greenwood
    • Served as Caddo Commission for District 10 for three terms.
    • Served 12 years and headed the committee over property standards and animal control
    • 30 years experience in the transportation industry.
  • WINNER: “Ken” Epperson, Sr. (D)
    • Current incumbent for seven terms.
    • U.S. Army Veteran
    • Caddo Parish Commission president 1996 - 2001
    • Police Jury Association of Louisiana in Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Keep up-to-date on the results here >>> ELECTION RESULTS

KSLA News 12 gives you the First Alert on breaking news and weather in the ArkLaTex.