Texas, Louisiana authorities warn against drunken driving for New Year’s
ARK-LA-TEX (KSLA) - During the holiday season, families gather and drinks are common, so Texas and Louisiana law enforcement agencies are warning against drinking and driving.
Texas law enforcement agencies are warning the community that there will be heavy law enforcement this weekend as they look for impaired drivers from now until the New Year’s holiday.
According to Texas authorities, every seven hours and 52 minutes, someone dies on Texas roads due to drinking and driving.
The Shreveport Police Department (SPD) Crash investigators, Daniel Atkins, and Officer D. Council explain that even if you wait a bit before driving alcohol stays in your system for a long time.
Drunken drivers could lose their driver’s license, face a fine of up to $30,000 in Texas, or even face jail time.
In Louisiana, fines could be from $300 to $1000, jail time, and a driver’s license suspension for 90 days.
According to SPD crash investigators, they investigated 31 crash fatalities this year, and at least half of those involved alcohol.
So, if you need to get home after having a drink, find a sober driver to take you home or get an UBER or cab.
Copyright 2022 KSLA. All rights reserved.