Top 20 short film finalists announced for Prize Fest 2022

(Source: Pexels, File)
Published: Aug. 18, 2022 at 2:53 PM CDT|Updated: Aug. 18, 2022 at 9:01 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

SHREVEPORT, La. (KSLA) - The Louisiana Film Prize has officially announced the top 20 short films that will move on to this year’s Prize Fest 2022!

The announcement took place at Robinson Film Center.

  • “Addie and the Lightning Bugs” directed by Alexander Jeffrey
  • “Bamber Bridge” directed by Mark D. Bonner
  • “Betty Lou had a Son” directed by David Long
  • “Canary” directed by Marion Forbes
  • “Cosmic” directed by Calvin O’Neal Jr.
  • “Credit” directed by Patrick & Susan Kirton
  • “The Crying Bull” directed by Gio March
  • “The Cut” directed by Camille Gladney
  • “Day of the Deb” directed by Rachel Whittle & Matthew Garvin
  • “Emmanuel 9″ directed by Aaron L. Williams
  • “In the Closet” directed by Finnegan Collins
  • “The Mover of Things” directed by Hannah Roark
  • “Notes on the War” directed by Stephen Joshua Martin
  • “Peeping Todd” directed by Josh Munds
  • “Please Scream Inside Your Heart” directed by Jaya & Jacob McSharma
  • “Rising Dawn” directed by Monique Morton Derouselle
  • “Ruminant” directed by Jeremy Enis
  • “Strangers in Common” directed by Carlos Jimenez
  • They Grow Up So Fast” directed by John Beach
  • “Unicorn Poop” directed by Lorna Street Dopson

The finalists will compete for up to a $50,000 grand prize Oct. 23.

“This year was our largest, most diverse year for films made for the Film Prize and the Film Prize finalists are a reflection of that,” said Gregory Kallenberg, founder and executive director of the Prize Foundation. “We are so proud to show these films at Prize Fest in October and show off the amazing that was done by this national group of independent filmmakers.”

To qualify, filmmakers had to create a short film (5-15 minutes) that was shot in Louisiana.

Music Prize finalists will be announced Tuesday, Aug. 23 at 6 p.m., and Comedy Prize finalists will be announced Thursday, Aug. 25 at 6 p.m.