Voters cast ballots in Arkansas primary runoff election

Published: Jun. 21, 2022 at 3:07 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

ARKANSAS (KSLA) - Voters head out to the polls on Tuesday, June 21, for Arkansas’ primary runoff election.

[Click here for a full list of results]

Major races on the ballot include sheriff in Miller and Lafayette counties, a county judge race in Howard County and assessor in Columbia County.

Howard County
  • Incumbent Howard Count Judge Kevin Smith was in a runoff for his job against justice of the peace and radio station manager, Brent Pinkerton. Pinkerton won out against Smith, unseating him with 66% of the vote.
Lafayette County
  • Former Stamps Police Chief Jeff Black defeated Chief Deputy James Barnes, beating Barnes with 55% of the vote. Black will be facing Democrat Lesa Ray in the November primary election.
Miller County
  • Detective Wayne Easley defeated Deputy Stephen Ward. There was no Democrat challenger, so there will be no race in November. Easley is going to become sheriff.

There were no state runoffs in this election. Polls closed at 7:30 p.m.

Copyright 2022 KSLA. All rights reserved.