SPD releases list of applicants approved for police chief exam

The test will be given Dec. 9
The test will be held on Dec. 9.
The test will be held on Dec. 9.
Published: Dec. 2, 2021 at 12:15 PM CST|Updated: Dec. 2, 2021 at 6:08 PM CST

SHREVEPORT, La. (KSLA) — Shreveport Police Department has released the list of applicants who have been approved to test for the position of police chief.

The test will be given Dec. 9.

Five of the applicants are on SPD’s force, and one is a former member. A former member of the Bossier City Police Department also is an applicant. And two other applicants are serving in other departments in southwest Louisiana.

The nine applicants, in alphabetical order, are:

  1. Sgt. Dorian Brabham, Lafayette Police Department (2002-present)
  2. Sgt. Jason Frazier, SPD Terminal Agency Coordinator (2004-present)
  3. Officer Marcus Hines, SPD (2005-present)
  4. Sgt. Michael Jones, SPD (2000-present)
  5. Marcus Mitchell, former SPD chief administrative assistant (2009-21)
  6. Interim Police Chief Wayne Smith, SPD (1980-present)
  7. Sgt. Michael Tyler, SPD (1997-present)
  8. Capt. Kenneth Wall, Sulphur Police Department (2003-present)
  9. Samuel Wyatt, a former Bossier City police sergeant (1993-2009)

Marcus Mitchell is the former Chief Administrative Assistant for SPD. He was fired in November following an administrative investigation where it was determined that he violated department rules and regulations.

Wayne Smith is serving as Shreveport’s interim police chief following the resignation of Police Chief Ben Raymond. Smith has served more than 40 years with SPD.

Marcus Hines, in the past, has worked as a public information officer with SPD.

All applicants were reviewed and approved by Shreveport Municipal Fire and Police Civil Service members.

RELATED » INTERVIEW: Domonique Benn speaks with SPD’s Substitute Chief Wayne Smith

Copyright 2021 KSLA. All rights reserved.