2 NWLA youths lay claim to 2020 student of the year titles

2 NWLA youths lay claim to 2020 student of the year titles
(Source: WAFB)

(KSLA) — Northwest Louisiana is now home to two of the state’s three students of the year.

Congratulations to Antavion Moore, the 2020 Louisiana High School Student of the Year. You have made Ringgold High...

Posted by Bienville Parish School Board on Tuesday, June 23, 2020

The Louisiana Education Department announced the 2020 award recipients Tuesday and delivered the news virtually.

Bienville Parish School District’s Antavion Jacarri Moore, a student at Ringgold High, is the winner at the high school level.

And Bossier School District’s Zachary Evans Cryer, of Benton Middle, is Louisiana’s middle school student of the year.

The honor at the elementary school level went to Piper Joan Cangelosi, of the LSU Laboratory School in the Louisiana State University System.

State education leaders said the overall winners — one student each from the elementary, middle and high school grades — were selected based on their academic achievement, leadership skills, character and, for the first time this year, their career and technical education achievements.

“Congratulations to Piper, Zachary and Antavion for earning this recognition among all of our remarkable finalists,” Louisiana Education Superintendent Cade Brumley said. “It takes dedication, sacrifice and talent to excel at the levels of these three young people. I’m proud to have them represent what’s possible for students in Louisiana.”

They were among 21 regional finalists for the titles.

Following are comments the Education Department shared about each winner.

Elementary School (5th grade): Piper Joan Cangelosi attends University Laboratory School in the Louisiana State University System (Region 4). Piper says “faith, family and goals” have motivated her to overcome obstacles and achieve at high levels. She’s twice earned perfect scores on the ELA portion of her state assessments and has a 4.0 GPA. Her teachers say she is an inquisitive, engaged student who motivates her peers and has a contagious appetite for learning. Piper is a leader on her school’s basketball team, a talented pianist, has earned featured roles on stage and volunteers in the community through the Girl Scouts and her church.

Middle School (8th grade): Zachary Evans Cryer attends Benton Middle School in Bossier Parish Schools (Region 1). Zachary was named the Louisiana elementary student of the year in 5th grade. He has maintained a 4.0 GPA throughout his time in school, scored Advanced on his most recent state assessments and has already earned a 28 on the ACT. He credits his role as president of Student Government Association with opening doors to better serve and lead in the community. Zachary’s other leadership roles include class spokesperson, cyber patriot team leader, Fellowship of Christian Athletes Student Leader and robotics team captain. Zachary is active in athletics and in the community. He organized a neighborhood collection drive for Operation Christmas Child.

High School (12th grade): Antavion Jacarri Moore is from Ringgold High School in Bienville Parish Schools (Region 1). Antavion graduated from high school having already earned an associates degree and certificate of general studies. He excelled in dual enrollment, AP and CTE coursework. He plans to major in biomedical engineering in college so he can become an orthopedic physician. Academically gifted, he’s also a talented music student. Antavion represented Louisiana at the 2019 national 4-H conference, where he presented ideas on the future of agricultural leadership to the Department of Agriculture. In his community, Antavion attends the mayor’s monthly meetings and updates citizens on new ordinances and events. He’s also written a congressional bill on mandatory computer science curriculum in schools at the Citizenship Washington Focus.

Congratulations to our 2020 Louisiana Students of the Year. Antavion Jacarri Moore from Ringgold High in Bienville...

Posted by Louisiana Department of Education on Tuesday, June 23, 2020

Copyright 2020 KSLA. All rights reserved.