Walk On’s Independence Bowl Duke defeats Temple

Walk On’s Independence Bowl Duke defeats Temple

SHREVEPORT, LA (KSLA) - The Duke Blue Devils make a run in the 2nd half to defeat the Temple Owls and win the Walk On’s Independence Bowl trophy 56-27.

Duke quarterback Daniel Jones recorded an Independence Bowl-record six touchdowns five passing and one rushing and threw for an Independence Bowl-record five touchdowns.

Jones had 423 passing yards and broke the previously-held record of 390 by Josh Heupel in 1999.

Receiver T.J. Rahming, also shattered an I-Bowl record for receiving yards with 240. He had 12 catches tied and Independence Bowl record tying Virginia Tech’s Isaiah Ford in the 2015 Independence Bowl.

“There’s so many things he does on the field to help our offense. It makes my job pretty easy when you can throw a glorified slant and he takes it 80 yards to the house,” said Jones of Rahming.

Copyright 2018 KSLA. All rights reserved.