Shreveport City Council gets three new members

Shreveport City Council gets three new members
Shreveport City Council will soon have three more faces after Saturday's runoff election

SHREVEPORT, LA (KSLA) - Shreveport voters had to decide who would fill four seats on the Shreveport City Council in Saturday’s runoff election.

Willie Bradford, the incumbent councilman for District A, was reelected for another four year term, and three new members were elected to represents Districts B, C, and D.

Bradford defeated challenger Rose Wilson McCulloch, who held the seat in District A until Bradford ousted her in the 2014 election. Bradford won 54 percent of the vote while McCulloch received 46 percent.

LeVette Fuller won the race for District B with 74 percent of the vote compared to 26 percent for Wendy Vance.

“I believe that our future as citizens of North Louisiana is linked directly to how quickly we can recognize and leverage our resources and capacity,” said Fuller in a statement.

Fuller, a graduate of Caddo Magnet High School and Centenary College, has worked with local schools through the public library system. She also serves on the Leadership Council of Step Forward and has been a member of the Shreveport Caddo Metropolitan Planning Commission.

Fuller will take the seat being vacated by Jeff Everson.

Shreveport Attorney John Nickelson will be the new representative for District C. Nickelson, a Shreveport native who graduated from Loyola College Prep is taking over the seat currently held by Oliver Jenkins. He defeated Patrick Kirton 57 percent to 43 percent.

Grayson Boucher, a real estate broker and former Justice of the Peace, defeated Versa “V.O.” Clark to become the new councilman for District D.

Boucher graduated from Captain Shreveport High School and attended Louisiana State University in Shreveport. He won 73 percent of the vote compared to 27 percent for Clark.

Copyright 2018 KSLA. All rights reserved.