Chapman resigns as Texarkana ISD board member

TISD District 4 Board Member Jerry Chapman
TISD District 4 Board Member Jerry Chapman

TEXARKANA, TX (KSLA) - Texarkana Independent School District Board Member Jerry Chapman resigned from his position Tuesday night. The resignation will take effect as soon as a replacement is named.

A press release from the TISD did not list a reason for Chapman's resignation.

Chapman was appointed to the board for District 4 in 1992. He ran for and won the seat in 1993 and has been re-elected ever since. His current term expires in May of 2011.

"It has been a privilege and honor to work with Jerry," commented Dr. James Grant, President of the TISD Board of Trustees.  "We will miss his presence but I am sure he will continue to share his wisdom with us due to his high regard for TISD."

The board is now looking for someone from District 4 to fill Chapman's unexpired term. The board will appoint a replacement until May of next year. Voters will then decide who will fill the rest of the term.

Anyone from TISD's District 4 interested in the board seat should send a letter to Brenda Perkins, Administrative Assistant to the Superintendent, 4241 Summerhill Road, Texarkana, TX  75503.