Ole Miss wins 2017 SEC Softball Championship - KSLA News 12 Shreveport, Louisiana News Weather & Sports

Ole Miss wins 2017 SEC Softball Championship

Source: SEC Source: SEC
KNOXVILLE, TN (Mississippi News Now) -

Hotty Toddy History.

#18 Ole Miss beat #21 LSU 5-1 Saturday night to win their first SEC Softball Championship in program history. Elantra Cox gave the Rebels the lead in the 2nd with a 2-run single. Kylan Becker had a 2-run knock of her own to cap a 4-run inning.

Kaitlin Lee became the first pitcher in 7 years to throw every inning in a SEC Tournament. Her 4th straight complete game earned her SEC Tournament MVP honors. 

Mike Smith took over a program that was in the SEC cellar 3 years ago. Four wins in five days at Rocky Top has the Rebels atop the Southeastern Conference.

Ole Miss  will learn their NCAA Regional destination Sunday night. The conference crown improves their hosting resume.

Copyright  2017 MSNewsNow. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly