Ross, Hutchinson move on in AR governor's race - KSLA News 12 Shreveport, Louisiana News Weather & Sports

Ross, Hutchinson move on in AR governor's race


An Ark-La-Tex native and a former federal agency director will represent their respective parties in this year's gubernatorial election (Click here to see the results of Tuesday night's race).

Because of term limits, current Governor Mike Beebe could not run for re-election. In the Democratic Primary, former 4th Congressional District Representative from Prescott, Mike Ross, was easily elected over Little Rock substitute teacher Lynette Bryant. In the GOP race, former congressman and DEA director Asa Hutchinson also won, beating his only challenger, retired businessman Curtis Coleman. Also on the November 4th ballot will be Libertarian Frank Gilbert, a minister and constable of Dekalb Township in Grant County.

Current 4th District Congressman Republican Tom Cotton is not running for re-election because he's challenging Arkansas U.S. Senator Democrat Mark Pryor for his seat in Washington.
Neither candidate had a primary challenger, so they move into the November General Election. Joining them on the ballot will be Libertarian Nathan LaFrance of Bella Vista, a senior manager at Wal-Mart, and Green Party Candidate Mark Swaney of Huntsville. He manages commercial patents for the University of Arkansas.

Cotton's run for the U.S. Senate has left the door open for a new 4th Congressional District representative. The only primary on Tuesday was for republicans. State House Majority Leader Bruce Westerman edged out Hot Springs Businessman Tommy Mole. Democrat James Lee Witt, the former FEMA Director under Bill Clinton, goes into the primary unchallenged. The two other candidates on the ballot will be Libertarian Ken Hamilton of El Dorado, who works for Murphy Oil, and Independent Candidate Janis Percefull of Hot Springs. She teaches at National Park Community College and is director of the Ouachita Springs Region Historical Research Center.

Click here to see the results of Tuesday night's race.

Copyright KSLA 2014. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Frankly