Burn ban issued for Columbia Co, AR - KSLA News 12 Shreveport, Louisiana News Weather & Sports

Burn ban issued for Columbia Co, AR


Columbia County judge Larry Atkinson has declared a ban on all outdoor burning in Columbia County.

According to a statement released Tuesday morning, The Arkansas Forestry Commission has advised Judge Atkinson that conditions are very dry and the "KBDI Reading" is increasing daily.

The Keetch-Byram Drought Index measures the risk of wildfire based on soil moisture and other conditions related to drought.

The ban will be lifted when conditions improve.

Burn bans are already in effect for Miller, Hempstead, Lafayette, Columbia and Union counties in Arkansas.

In Texas, burn bans are in place for Bowie, Cass, Marion, Harrison, Panola, Shelby, Sabine, San Augustine, Nacogdoches, Rusk, Gregg, Upshur, Camp, Morris and Titus counties.

In Louisiana, burn bans are in effect in Caddo, Bossier, Webster, DeSoto, Sabine and Natchitoches parishes.

Copyright 2013 KSLA. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly