LA Tech's Dixon added to Maxwell Award Watch List

[Information provided by: LA Tech Athletics]

A year removed from setting three NCAA records and garnering Freshman All-America honors Louisiana Tech running back Kenneth Dixon was named to the Maxwell Award Watch List, an honor given to the nation's college player of the year.

Dixon is the second Louisiana Tech player to be named to a preseason watch list after D.J. Banks was named to the Paul Hornung Award Watch List last week.

During the 2012 campaign Dixon ran for 1,194 yards and an NCAA record 27 rushing touchdowns (as a freshman) on 200 carries, breaking a record held by Marshall Faulk. He also broke NCAA records held by Faulk for most overall touchdowns scored (28) and most points scored (168) as a freshman.

The Strong, Ark. native also set a school record with six rushing touchdowns in a 70-28 win over Idaho on Oct. 20 as were his 27 rushing touchdowns over the course of the season. His 1,194 rushing yards are the most ever by a Tech freshman.

Dixon is one of three players from Conference USA on the Maxwell Award Watch List joining Marshall's Rakeem Cato and Tulsa's Trey Watts and is one of three players from Louisiana on the list alongside Kolton Browning (Louisiana-Monroe) and Zach Mettenerger (LSU).

The Maxwell Award, named in honor of Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell, has been given to America's College Player of the Year since 1937. Maxwell's contributions to the game of football were extensive, including as a player, a sportswriter and an official.

The watch list will once again incorporate a broad spectrum of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) programs and conferences from coast to coast. Returning Maxwell Award semifinalists from 2012 include Clemson QB Tajh Boyd, USC WR Marqise Lee, Texas A&M QB Johnny Manziel, Alabama QB AJ McCarron, Ohio State QB Braxton Miller and Oregon RB De'Anthony Thomas. The list also showcases six defensive players, and for the first time in Award history three offensive linemen, Michigan OT Taylor Lewan, Texas A&M OT Jake Matthews and Stanford OG David Yankey. Defending National Champion Alabama is the most represented program, with RB T.J. Yeldon, WR Amari Cooper and LB C.J. Mosley joining McCarron.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced Oct. 29, while the three finalists for each award will be unveiled Nov. 25th. The winners of the 2013 Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show held on Dec. 12th. The formal presentations of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah's Entertainment Atlantic City on March 7, 2014.

The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's selection committee, which analyzes both past performance and future potential. The Club reserves the right to make additions and deletions to these lists as the 2013 season unfolds. All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA sports information directors, FBS head coaches and selected national media are eligible to vote for the awards.

The Maxwell and Chuck Bednarik Awards are members of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.

The 2013 season will mark the first under new head coach Skip Holtz as the Bulldogs enter the school's inaugural season as a member of Conference USA. The season begins on Aug. 31 when LA Tech plays at NC State in Raleigh, N.C. LA Tech's home schedule begins on Sept. 7 when the Bulldogs host Lamar at 6 p.m. at Joe Aillet Stadium.