Ryan Allen wins Ray Guy Award for second consecutive year - KSLA News 12 Shreveport, Louisiana News Weather & Sports

Ryan Allen wins Ray Guy Award for second consecutive year

© Louisiana Tech Athletics © Louisiana Tech Athletics

[Information provided by Louisiana Tech]

ORLANDO, Fla. (Dec. 6, 2012) – Louisiana Tech's Ryan Allen became the first back-to-back recipient of the coveted Ray Guy Award as the nation's top punter as the Bulldog senior took home the hardware for the second consecutive year Thursday night during the Home Depot College Football Awards Show.

Tech's punter beat out Florida's Kyle Christy and Ball State's Scott Kovanda for the award. The award was announced on a live national broadcast on ESPN.

"Even after I won it last year, I was just so ecstatic to be part of this whole event that ESPN College Football Awards puts on and to be honored for the success that my punt coverage team and I have had," Allen said. "They have just as much to do with this as I do. To do it again is a real honor. For the Augusta Sports Council to go out and recognize a punter and for us to get recognized for our success is big. It is big for our team it is big for our soon-to-be players that will be on special teams as it shows them that this is important and it does get recognized if you do a good job. We impacted some games and we were a huge contribution to our team's success and that is what it is all about."

Allen, who was also named first team Walter Camp All-American Thursday, led the nation in punting this season with an average of 48.04 yards per punt and leds the nation in net punting with a net punting average of 43.51. He booted the longest punt this season of any punter in the country with an 85-yard kick at New Mexico State. Over 44 percent of his punts this season have landed inside the 20 and over 46 percent of his punts have gone over 50 yards.

Allen joins former Bulldog Troy Edwards as the only major award winner for Louisiana Tech after Edwards claimed the 1998 Biletnikoff Award. He was named a finalist for the Ray Guy Award in late November, the third player in school history to be named a finalist for a national award. Willie Roaf was a 1992 Outland Trophy finalist. He is only the fifth punter to be named a finalist in back-to-back years in the history of the Ray Guy Award.

A native of Salem, Oregon was also named to the 2012 AFCA FBS Coaches' All-America Team announced Nov. 28 by the American Football Coaches Association. The Sporting News and CBS Sports have also named Allen to their respective All-America teams.

Blue Ribbon and the Walter Camp Football Foundation bestowed All-America honors on Tech's punter last season.

Only Baylor's Daniel Sepulveda has won the award multiple times, winning in 2004 and 2006. He was not a finalist for the 2005 award.

For complete coverage of Bulldog Football, please follow @LATechPWalsh and @LATechFB on Twitter or visit the official home of Louisiana Tech Athletics at LATechSports.com.

Powered by Frankly