Cameron, Dixon named WAC players of the year - KSLA News 12 Shreveport, Louisiana News Weather & Sports

Cameron, Dixon named WAC players of the year

[Information provided by WAC Conference]

DENVER – The Western Athletic Conference announced its all-WAC teams and coach and players of the year awards as voted upon by the WAC's seven head coaches. Louisiana Tech and San Jose State led the league with nine first-team all-WAC honorees each, while WAC champion Utah State placed eight on the first team. Louisiana Tech's Colby Cameron was named the Offensive Player of the Year, San Jose State's Travis Johnson earned Defensive Player of the Year honors, and Louisiana Tech's Kenneth Dixon was named the Freshman of the Year. Utah State's Gary Andersen was voted the WAC's Coach of the Year.

Cameron, a senior quarterback from Newbury Park, Calif. (Newbury Park HS), is second in the nation in passing with 345.6 yards per game and fourth in total offense with 360.3 yards per contest. Cameron completed 359-of-522 passes for 4,147 yards and 31 touchdowns with just five interceptions. He didn't throw his first interception until the 11th game of the season. Cameron set a new NCAA record for most consecutive passes without an interception with 428 attempts this year and 444 going back to last season. This is Louisiana Tech's second WAC Offensive Player of the Year award as running back Ryan Moats was the 2004 recipient.

Johnson, a senior defensive end from San Jose, Calif. (The King's Academy), leads the WAC in tackles for loss with 19 for 106 yards. He also leads the WAC and is seventh nationally in sacks with 12 for a loss of 66 yards. Johnson became the WAC's all-time leader in sacks with 31 and is fourth all-time in tackles for loss with 46.5. He has 60 tackles on the season and has forced two fumbles. San Jose State leads the WAC in sacks and is second in the conference in scoring defense and total defense. The Spartans are playing Bowling Green in the Military Bowl on Dec. 27. This is San Jose State's second WAC Defensive Player of the Year award as defensive tackle Jarron Gilbert earned the award in 2008.

Dixon, a freshman running back from Strong, Ark. (Strong HS), is the nation's leader in scoring with 14.0 points per game. He is second in the WAC in rushing with 99.5 yards per contest after gaining 1,194 on 200 carries. Dixon set three NCAA and WAC single-season freshman records for most rushing touchdowns in a season (27), most touchdowns in a season (28) and most points scored in a season (168), all three of which had been previously set by San Diego State's Marshall Faulk in 1991. This is Louisiana Tech's first WAC Freshman of the Year award.

Andersen earned his first WAC Coach of the Year award in his fourth season as head coach after leading Utah State to a 10-2 record and its first ever WAC title with a 6-0 mark. Utah State is playing in its second consecutive Famous Idaho Potato Bowl on Saturday, Dec. 15. This is Utah State's first WAC Coach of the Year award.

A total of six first-team all-WAC players were repeat selections from last year: Louisiana Tech wide receiver Quinton Patton, San Jose State tight end Ryan Otten, Louisiana Tech offensive lineman Stephen Warner, Utah State offensive lineman Tyler Larsen, San Jose State defensive lineman Travis Johnson and Louisiana Tech punter Ryan Allen.

Utah State placed a WAC-high seven players on the second team while San Jose State had six, Louisiana Tech five and New Mexico State and UTSA with four apiece.

Top Individual Awards
Offensive Player of the Year
- Colby Cameron, Sr., QB, Louisiana Tech
Defensive Player of the Year - Travis Johnson, Sr., DL, San Jose State
Freshman of the Year - Kenneth Dixon, RB, Louisiana Tech
Coach of the Year - Gary Andersen, Utah State

First Team
Pos-Name, School, Ht., Wt., Year
WR-*Quinton Patton, Louisiana Tech, 6-2, 195, Sr.
WR-Austin Franklin, New Mexico State, 6-2, 180, So.
WR-%Noel Grigsby, San Jose State, 5-11, 175, Jr.
TE-*Ryan Otten, San Jose State, 6-5, 245, Jr.
OL-Jordan Mills, Louisiana Tech, 6-6, 315, Sr.
OL-*Stephen Warner, Louisiana Tech, 6-0, 295, Jr.
OL-Nicholas Kaspar, San Jose State, 6-4, 284, Jr.
OL-%David Quessenberry, San Jose State, 6-6, 291, Sr.
OL-*Tyler Larsen, Utah State, 6-4, 308, Jr.
OL-Eric Schultz, Utah State, 6-4, 304, Jr.
QB-Colby Cameron, Louisiana Tech, 6-2, 205, Sr.
QB-Chuckie Keeton, Utah State, 6-2, 198, So.
RB-Kenneth Dixon, Louisiana Tech, 6-0, 211, Fr.
RB-Kerwynn Williams, Utah State, 5-9, 193, Sr.

Pos-Name, School, Ht., Wt., Year

DL-IK Enemkpali, Louisiana Tech, 6-2, 245, Jr.
DL-*Travis Johnson, San Jose State, 6-3, 244, Sr.
DL-Travis Raciti, San Jose State, 6-5, 286, So.
DL-Al Lapuaho, Utah State, 6-3, 289, Sr.
LB-Vince Buhagiar, San Jose State, 6-4, 237, Jr.
LB-%#Keith Smith, San Jose State, 6-1, 229, Jr.
LB-Jake Doughty, Utah State, 6-0, 227, Jr.
LB-Kyler Fackrell, Utah State, 6-5, 236, Fr.
DB-Gary Walker, Idaho, 6-0, 203, Sr.
DB-Dave Clark, Louisiana Tech, 6-2, 190, Sr.
DB-Jeremy Harris, New Mexico State, 6-2, 185, Sr.
DB-Bené Benwikere, San Jose State, 6-0, 192, Jr.
DB-Triston Wade, UTSA, 6-0, 170, So.
DB-Will Davis, Utah State, 6-0, 192, Sr.

Pos-Name, School, Ht., Wt., Year

PK-$Trey Farquhar, Idaho, 6-1, 189, Sr.
P-*Ryan Allen, Louisiana Tech, 6-2, 215, Sr.
ST-D.J. Banks, Louisiana Tech, 5-9, 185, Jr.

Second Team
WR-Myles White, Sr., Louisiana Tech
WR-Chandler Jones, Jr., San Jose State
WR-Matt Austin, Sr., Utah State
TE-Chase Harper, Sr., Texas State
OL-Oscar Johnson, Sr., Louisiana Tech
OL-Kevin Saia, Sr., Louisiana Tech
OL-%Davonte Wallace, Jr., New Mexico St.
OL-Scott Inskeep, So., UTSA
OL-Jamie Markosian, Jr., Utah State
QB-David Fales, Jr., Utah State
RB-De'Leon Eskridge, Sr., San Jose State
RB-Ray Holley, Sr., Louisiana Tech

DL-Anthony Larceval, Jr., San Jose State
DL-David Tuitupou, Sr., San Jose State
DL-Franky Anaya, Sr., UTSA
DL-Jordan Nielsen, Fr., Utah State
LB-Trashaun Nixon, Jr., New Mexico State
LB-Steven Kurfehs, Jr., UTSA
LB-Brandon Reeves, Sr., UTSA
LB-Joplo Bartu, Jr., Texas State
LB-Zach Vigil, So., Utah State
DB-%Chad Boyd, Sr., Louisiana Tech
DB-Davis Cazares, Jr., New Mexico State
DB-Darryl Morris, Sr., Texas State
DB-McKade Brady, Sr., Utah State
DB-Nevin Lawson, Jr., Utah State

PK-Austin Lopez, Fr., San Jose State
P-%&Bobby Cowan, Sr., Idaho
P-Cayle Chapman-Brown, Jr., NM State
ST-Tyler Ervin, So., San Jose State

*2011 First-Team All-WAC Selection
%2011 Second-Team All-WAC Selection
&2010 First-Team All-WAC Selection
#2010 Second-Team All-WAC Selection
$2009 Second-Team All-WAC Selection

Others receiving votes
-Mike Scott, Sr., Idaho; Jabari Carr, So., San Jose State; Kam Jones, So., UTSA; Chuck Jacobs, Sr., Utah State; TE-Cole Hubble, So., UTSA; Kellen Bartlett, Sr., Utah State; OL-Mike Marboe, So., Idaho; Ryan Jones, Jr., San Jose State; Cody Harris, So., UTSA; Matt Freeman, Fr., Texas State; QB-None; RB-Evans Okotcha, Jr., UTSA; Marcus Curry, Sr., Texas State.

DL-Jesse Davis, So., Idaho; Maxx Forde, So., Idaho; Shakeil Lucas, Jr., Louisiana Tech; Blake McColloch, Jr., Texas State; Connor Williams, Jr., Utah State; LB-Homer Mauga, Sr., Idaho; Rob Siavii, Sr., Idaho; DB-Aaron Grymes, Sr., Idaho; Cullen Newsome, Sr., San Jose State; Craig Mager, So., Texas State; Jason McLean, Sr., Texas State.

Special Teams
PK-Matt Nelson, Sr., Louisiana Tech; P-None; ST-Kenny Harrison, So., UTSA; Andy Erickson, Jr., Texas State; Jafus Gaines, Fr., Texas State.

Powered by Frankly