La Tech QB Colby Cameron wins Sammy Baugh award - KSLA News 12 Shreveport, Louisiana News Weather & Sports

La Tech QB Colby Cameron wins Sammy Baugh award

[Information provided by Louisiana Tech]

COLUMBUS, Ohio (Nov. 26, 2012) – Louisiana Tech quarterback Colby Cameron has been named the winner of the prestigious Sammy Baugh Award presented to college football's top passer by The Touchdown Club of Columbus.

The trophy was first presented in 1959 and has been held by legendary passers including Steve Young, John Elway, Bob Griese and last year's winner Case Keenum of Houston. Cameron is the first Bulldog honored by the TDC since Troy Edwards won the Paul Warfield Award in 1998.

During the 2012 regular season Cameron established NCAA records for most consecutive pass attempts without an interception in a season (428) and in a career (444). The Newbury Park, Calif. native recorded 4,147 passing yards, 31 touchdown passes and a completion percentage of 69 percent. Cameron also posted a trio of 400-plus passing yard games including a career high 468 yards at San Jose State on Nov. 24.

Cameron directed an offense that is ranked No. 1 nationally in scoring and total offense and No. 4 nationally in passing offense. He directed a Bulldog unit that was the only team in the country to score 51 or more points in eight games during the season.

The Sammy Baugh Award will be presented during the Touchdown Club of Columbus 58th Annual Sports Banquet scheduled for Saturday, Feb. 9, 2013 at the Lifestyle Communities Pavilion in Downtown Columbus.  For additional information, visit

Louisiana Tech finished the regular season with a 9-3 mark and is awaiting its bid to a bowl game.

For complete coverage of Bulldog Football, please follow @LATechPWalsh and @LATechFB on Twitter or visit the official home of Louisiana Tech Athletics at

Powered by Frankly