FEMA adds three counties to Texas wildfire disaster declaration - KSLA News 12 Shreveport, Louisiana News Weather & Sports

FEMA adds three counties to Texas wildfire disaster declaration

Released by FEMA

AUSTIN, Texas - Disaster assistance has been made available in Harrison, Smith and Upshur counties to help survivors of the historic wildfires begin the process of recovery. The three Texas counties were added Friday to the major disaster declaration, said officials with the Texas Division of Emergency Management and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

Homeowners, renters and businesses in the affected counties are encouraged to register with FEMA. The application process is simple, but crucial, as FEMA may provide assistance that can address specific needs.

"Assistance is now available for individuals in three more counties to get them started with their recovery," said Federal Coordinating Officer Kevin L. Hannes of FEMA. "Survivors in all 16 designated counties should register with FEMA as soon as possible," he said.

 Counties previously designated for Individual Assistance are Bastrop, Cass, Colorado, Gregg, Grimes, Houston, Leon, Marion, Montgomery, Travis, Walker, Waller and Williamson.

 Disaster assistance may include grants that help pay for temporary housing, emergency home repairs or other serious disaster-related expenses, such as medical and dental expenses or funeral and burial costs that are not covered by insurance.

 Low-interest disaster loans may also be available from the U.S. Small Business Administration that compensate for losses incurred during the disaster that are not fully covered by insurance or other grants. 

Powered by Frankly