Drought: 7 LA parishes included in disaster declaration - KSLA News 12 Shreveport, Louisiana News Weather & Sports

Drought: 7 LA parishes included in disaster declaration

Seven Louisiana parishes have been included in a drought disaster declaration by the United States Department of Agriculture.

The parishes are Beauregard, Caddo, DeSoto, Sabine, Vernon, Calcasieu and Cameron. 

Louisiana and Forestry Commissioner Mike Strain says the parishes are close to the "primary disaster area" made up of 213 Texas counties designated by the USDA due to drought and related adversities. 

Strain says the disaster designation makes farm operators in the primary counties and contiguous parishes eligible for Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans and the Supplement Revenue Assistance Payments (SURE) Program. 

Farmers in the eligible parishes have eight months from the June 24 declaration date to apply for the emergency loan assistance. 

Farm operators should contact their local FSA office for more information. 

Copyright KSLA-TV 2011. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly