Players Named to All-Louisiana Baseball Team

NATCHITOCHES - Tulane third baseman Rob Segedin was named Louisiana's Hitter of the Year while teammate Blake Crohan picked up Freshman of the Year honors on the 2010 Louisiana Sports Writers Association All-Louisiana College Baseball team.

The team was announced this weekend after voting by state baseball sports information directors and a voting panel of LSWA members.

Five Northwestern State players were included: state Newcomer of the Year and second-team outfielder Oscar Garcia, first-team selections Luke Irvine (pitcher) and Eric DeBlanc (outfielder), second-team pick Chad Sheppard (pitcher) and honorable mention choice Chase Lyles (infielder.

Joining Segedin and Crohan for top honors were Zach Osbourne of Louisiana-Lafayette for Pitcher of the Year; Northwestern's Garcia for Newcomer of the Year; and Southeastern Louisiana head coach Jay Artigues joined Louisiana-Lafayette skipper Tony Robichaux to share Coach of the Year honors.

LSU led the state with four first team selections while Tulane placed three players on the first team.  LSU's four included catcher Micah Gibbs (.392 BA-9 HR-55 RBI), first baseman Blake Dean (.344-11-69), designated hitter Matt Gaudet (.289-19-66), and outfielder Mikie Mahtook (.335-14-49).

Joining Segedin and Crohan on the first team for Tulane was pitcher Nick Pepitone (6-0, 2.28 ERA).

Nick Schwaner (.320-17-48) of UNO garnered first team honors at second base while McNeese State shortstop Jace Peterson (.353-4-49) picked up the honors to round out the infield.

Joining Mahtook in the outfield on the first team were Northwestern's DeBlanc (.382-6-39) and Louisiana Tech's Devon Dageford (.373-17-56).  And joining Osborne and Pepitone on the mound were Northwestern's Irvine (7-4 record, 2.91 ERA) and Centenary's Boone Whiting (6-2, 3.21).

Segedin, a sophomore native of Old Tappan, New Jersey, earned Conference USA first team honors after he hit .434 for season with 14 home runs and 54 RBIs.  He ranked among the top five in C-USA in overall average, slugging percentage (.788), doubles (29), and total bases.

Crohan, who also earned first team All-Louisiana honors as a utility player, hit .340 with eight home runs and 42 RBIs to go along with 14 doubles.  The native of Roswell, Ga., had 20 multi-hit games and ranked ninth in the conference in fielding percentage.  He also earned Conference USA All-Freshman Team honors.

In his first season at Northwestern after transferring from El Paso CC in his hometown, Garcia led the Demons with 87 hits, which was one shy of the single-season school record.  He hit .375 for the year with six home runs, 48 RBIs, and three triples.  He was also one of the toughest hitters in the country to strike out, after having fanned just 12 times in 232 at-bats.  He  earned first team All-Southland Conference honors.

Osbourne, a senior from Houston, helped guide the Ragin' Cajuns to the NCAA Regionals after he compiled an 8-4 record with a 2.56 ERA.  He struck out 108 batters in 112.2 innings pitched and tossed one shutout with four complete games.  He also earned first team All-Sun Belt honors and was a two-time Sun Belt Pitcher of the Week winner.

Artigues led Southeastern to its best record in school history at 40-19 while equaling its best record (21-12) in the Southland Conference while Robichaux guided the Ragin' Cajuns to one of the most remarkable second half runs in recent memory as they finished the 2010 regular season with a 23-4 mark in the final 27 games, including 17-1 in Sun Belt Conference games.

Four LSU-Shreveport players led the charge on the All-Louisiana second team - first baseman Kevin Smith (.391-19-89), catcher Andrew Brouillette (.437-6-71), and pitchers John James (11-1, 3.61 ERA) and Justin Ennis (12-0, 2.85).

Completing the second team honors were:  Louisiana-Lafayette second baseman Jordan Poirrier (.330-12-56), Southeastern shortstop Justin Boudreaux (.313-13-66), Louisiana Tech third baseman Mark Threlkeld (.335-14-62), SLU designated hitter Joe Sparacino (.324-8-35), Louisiana-Monroe utility player Judd Edwards (.333-2-20), NSU's outfielder Garcia, Louisiana College's outfielder Cody Laprarie (.371-2-39), Centenary's outfielder Cliff Shepard (.359-6-48), and pitchers Sheppard of NSU (2-0, 3.60, 10 saves) and SLU's Chris Franklin (8-7, 3.87, 7 saves).

2010 All-Louisiana Baseball


P - Zach Osborne, Louisiana-Lafayette

P - Luke Irvine, Northwestern State

P - Nick Pepitone, Tulane

P - Boone Whiting, Centenary

C - Micah Gibbs, LSU

1B - Blake Dean, LSU

2B - Nick Schwaner, UNO

3B - Rob Segedin, Tulane

SS - Jace Peterson, McNeese State

OF - Devon Dageford, Louisiana Tech

OF - Eric DeBlanc, Northwestern State

OF - Mikie Mahtook, LSU

DH - Matt Gaudet, LSU

UTL - Blake Crohan, Tulane

HITTER OF THE YEAR:  Rob Segedin, Tulane Voting - Rob Segedin 18, Micah Gibbs 7, Devon Dageford 4, Kevin Smith 2, Beau Faulk 1, Cody Laprarie 1.

PITCHER OF THE YEAR:  Zach Osborne, Louisiana-Lafayette Voting -- Zach Osborne 16, Luke Irvine 8, John James 5, Boone Whiting 3, Nick Pepitone 1.

NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR:  Oscar Garcia, Northwestern State Voting -- Oscar Garcia, 19; Shaw Moy, 4; Clint Dempster, 3; Joey Satriano, 2; Jeff Harkensee, 2; Will Alvis, 1; Caleb Clowers, 1; Scott Pasket, 1.

FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR:  Blake Crohan, Tulane

Voting -- Blake Crohan, 22; Judd Edwards, 4; Anthony VanGessel, 2; Tyler Frederick, 1; Brock Hebert, 1; Taylor Terrasas, 1.

CO-COACH OF THE YEAR:  Jay Artigues, Southeastern Louisiana; Tony Robichaux, Louisiana-Lafayette

Voting -- Jay Artigues, 10; Tony Robichaux, 10; Jon Paul Davis, 5; James Cooper, 4; Rocke Musgraves, 2; Mike Byrnes, 1; Paul Mainieri, 1.


P - John James, LSU-Shreveport

P - Justin Ennis, LSU-Shreveport

P - Chris Franklin, Southeastern Louisiana P - Chad Sheppard, Northwestern State C - Andrew Brouillette, LSU-Shreveport 1B - Kevin Smith, LSU-Shreveport 2B - Jordan Poirrier, Louisiana-Lafayette 3B - Mark Threlkeld, Louisiana Tech SS - Justin Boudreaux, Southeastern Louisiana OF - Oscar Garcia, Northwestern State OF - Cody Laprarie, Louisiana College OF - Cliff Shepard, Centenary DH - Joe Sparacino, Southeastern Louisiana UTL - Judd Edwards, ULM

HONORABLE MENTION:  P - Clint Dempster, Nicholls; P - Paul Bertuccini, LSU; P - Jaden Dillon, McNeese; P - Jordan Hymel, SLU; P - Austin Ross, LSU; C - Chad Keefer, Louisiana-Lafayette; 1B - Frazer Hall, Southern; 2B - Joey Ford, LTU; 3B - Chase Lyles, NSU; SS - Austin Nola, LSU; DH - Will Alvis, LTU; UTL - Brody Bourque, Nicholls and Jeff Ericson, Centenary; OF - Cody Laprarie, La. College; OF - Leon Landry, LSU; OF - Brett Comer, Nicholls.